Home » Mothering » Where the Wild Things are Party

Where the Wild Things are Party

Ike’s first birthday party was themed after the Maurice Sendak book “Where the Wild Things Are“.  Isaac and I were both fans of this book as children, and the character Max in the book suits Ike just perfectly.  Don’t you?

610_3513

Gabby and I had a little photo shoot with the wild thing a few weeks before the party.  We took some of his best shots and added a 4×6 photo to the favor bags.

610_3509

610_3454

 

Planning the party was somewhat bittersweet. It was fun to plan all the details of such a fun theme, but it did force me to face the reality that my baby was growing up.

A lot of the details for the party were handmade, courtesy of Pinterest.  Follow insearchofthe25thhour on pinterest for the full details.   But here are some of my favorites.

The favor bags.  These are cotton muslin bags that I used an iron-on shirt transfer to put the image from the book’s cover on.

610_3603

Inside the bag is a small bottle of bubbles, rock-shaped chocolate candy, and a photo of Ike in his Max costume.

Book Art.  I used dollar store frames and printed images from the books to display notes about the party scapes.

The ones I used read:

Now Stop! Be Still! Please Take a Moment to Sign Ike’s Book

Oh Please Don’t Go!  We’ll Eat You Up We Love You So

Then All Around From Away Across the World He Smelled Good Things to Eat

The paper tree forest.  Gabby helped out with this one A LOT.  Hanging paper balls from the ceiling and green streamer “vines” from the cabinets.  Gigi and I puffed the balls and opened the fans.

610_3615 610_3617 610_3612

All of these decorating items were purchased from a party supply store except the leaves, which were cut from construction paper.

Fruit Boats.  These were construction paper sails, little food trays, and kebab skewers.  They were filled with red and yellow fruits, we used watermelon, red grapes, strawberries, and some pineapple.

610_3622

Crown sandwiches.  These may be my favorites.  I used this cookie cutter to make the shapes and filled the sandwiches with chicken salad.

610_3623

Some of the other tasty treats from the party included:

  • A Cheese Ball
  • Pasta Salad
  • Mexican Rice (Ike’s fav)
  • Fried Chicken
  • Green “Monster” Punch
  • Crown Frosted Rice Krispie Treats (thank you Dori!)
  • And CAKE of course there was CAKE!

The cakes were purchased in Indiana at a local bakery.  The smash cake was the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen.  It got Ike super messy though with all the black icing.  I loved it!

610_3879
T
he full sized cake.

610_3883
Ike’s smash cake.  And his “I am one!” banner, purchased on etsy.

In place of a traditional guest book, we asked Ike’s guests to sign a copy of “Where the Wild Things Are” for him to keep as a memory of his first birthday.  The little messages turned out really cute and I am glad he will have this memento.

610_3626

Gigi found the two little boats to use as decoration during the party.

610_3604

Gigi also had this fathead made, of my fatheaded baby.  I love it!  We took it home.  I think Ike would like to display it in his room when he is a teenager.  We used this as a photo drop for the guests.

610_3613

The wild rumpus sign over the highchair was also purchased from etsy. 

I had a “decorate your own crown” activity using paper crowns and colored pencils.  I found some pencils that were shaped like tree limbs at World Market.

610_3628

610_3757

610_3602

We used an existing mirror to display Ike’s monthly photos.  It made me a little teary-eyed to see my baby growing up before my eyes.

Finally, the guest of honor.  I knew that the max costume would be a bit much for an endless family party, so I bought him this simple onesie that declared him “King of all the Wild Things”.  Also purchased on etsy.

610_3651

 

There you have it.  Ike’s birthday party looking picture perfect to be archived forever and ever as the day that mommy was amazing.   Ha! Thank you to everyone who kept me sane and helped out with this.  I will have to post some of the actual party happenings in a separate post.

The post has been linked at

6 thoughts on “Where the Wild Things are Party

  1. This was a lovely party. As your son is absolutely adorable. I’m glad you did something very different than the norm and Pinterest is so wonderful for that. It’s interesting as I was reading your blog I thought about my own blog that I put up today about trying to get to a party on time. Just seeing the effort that you put into the party made me realize how important it is to arrive on time to be a part of the party! Great job! http://www.momscript.com

    • I only have one small child, so I am still on the let’s go all out for everything train. I can see how with three it is a challenge to get out the door, nevermind the sheer number of kiddie social events that you must have scheduled! With just the one (and his father) it is enough of a challenge to get to parties on time with everyone wearing pants AND shirts.

  2. Pingback: Harold and the Purple Crayon | insearchofthe25thhour

Leave a Reply

