Home » Mothering » Discovery Bottles

Discovery Bottles

Sensory play is one of the most important developmental tools that we can provide for our infants and toddlers.  Sure they get a lot of sensory play and exposure from everyday life, but a little concerted effort never hurts either.

I don’t consider myself much of a DIYer usually, especially with that popularity of Pinterest, my little projects are just put completely to shame.  But not in the eyes of a 15 month old.  He doesn’t know pinterest and I am mommy and therefore the most amazing person ever anyway!  So I can DIY for Ike.

And I do.

Sensory Bottles

I made him a few discovery bottles around Christmas time.  Nothing fancy, I seriously found all of these things in my craft box and in the pantry.

Tools:

  1. Small Water Bottles – I used 8oz Kroger brand ones because that is what I had leftover from a party.
  2. Glitter
  3. Sequins
  4. Olive Oil
  5. Light Corn Syrup
  6. Hot Glue Gun

Bottles:

  • Glitter and Water

IMG_0181

  • Olive Oil and Water

IMG_0182

  • Corn Syrup and sequins

IMG_0178

To seal the bottles from my little Houdini I screwed the lids on after placing a thin bead of hot glue around the edge.

*Shared at Create It Thursday, Thrifty Thursday, and the Weekly Kids Co-op.

One thought on “Discovery Bottles

Leave a Reply

